I Love This Stuff (Part II)


I admit it. I’m a total sap for:

  • Bagpipes
  • Scotland the Brave
  • A penny whistle, really well-played.
  • Older women overcome with emotion at beautiful things (at 3:10 and 3:32)
  • Wonderful performances of Amazing Grace
  • Amazing Grace
  • Big crowds at concerts getting all into it, and singing along at the tops of their lungs, leaving their dignity and restraint far behind, and having a ball!

This recording has all that, as well as the great good fun of  an André Rieu performance.

Amazing Grace begins at the 1:50 mark, and the penny whistle dances, whoops, frolics, gambols, flits and cavorts absolutely delightfully over the whole thing. Listen to it more than once, and you understand the great skill the player has! Listen to the whole thing at least once just to follow the penny whistle. Worth every second!

When the bagpipes join in (at 2:41 or so), it’s just a wonderful thing. Chills.

If you, yourself, don’t tear up at least a bit at 3:10 and 3:32, again, check yourself for human-ness.(1) What a beautiful face! It calls to mind that wonderful old saying: “A beautiful young face is a gift from God; a beautiful old face is a work of art.(2)

I don’t recognize the tune at 8:00, but take a look at the woman in the polka-dot dress as she throws decorum to the four winds. Now that’s how to have fun (among ummmm… several other ways, of course!).

Very important note: Turn it up loud!(3)

Most important note: Enjoy!

— xPraetorius

Notes


(1) – Here’s an easy way: count your chromosomes. If you don’t wind up with 23 pairs, you might think you’re human, but you’re probably not.

(2) – Origins unknown. Can someone help me?

(3) – Loud is how we’re supposed to listen to all great music.

 

7 thoughts on “I Love This Stuff (Part II)

  1. Lol! I LOVE the “human-ness check!” I counted my chromosomes and came up with 23 pairs, so I guess I’m human. Odd. I had suspected I wasn’t.

  2. Your ‘human-ness’ idea is accentuated in Andre’s performances; love the camera shots of the audience, people like you and I, just captivated by the spirit of man as demonstrated through music.

    I like to say that good music stirs emotions in me that were hidden. Well done
    times 2 -xp

    1. Many, many thanks, CS. Especially for: “people like you and I, just captivated by the spirit of man as demonstrated through music…”

      So nicely said! Music, well-played and honestly enjoyed can be so uplifting!

      IMHO: the ability to perceive and appreciate such things is one of God’s sweetest gifts to us. Along with all the others, of course! 🙂

      Best,

      — x

        1. I’ll do my best, CS!

          Let’s keep encouraging each other. Yours is a blog I love to visit now, and I’m not afraid to admit it! 🙂

          You, along with IB, Tricia, Mike, and some others have been just wonderful discoveries in recent days, weeks and months. Major breaths of fresh air all, and I’m so glad of it and, I hope, the better for it!

          Best,

          — x

Please Leave a Reply

